Dropsource App with Bubble API to create 2 related Things in the Database

Hi guys

I have been struggling for a few days now to find the information I need and am finally asking a question in the forum. Apologies if there are resources available already, I am just new to this and I fear I don’t know the terminology to got results in Google.

I am creating an app within Dropsource and have followed the Integrate with Bubble tutorial to create users and have them Signup/Login.

Within Bubble, I have created the Data types, setup permissions and have successfully written to the tables as a User from the Dropsource App.

My App will allow the user to create a Pin (Long press on Mapview) and then save it to a Map to refer to it later (a Map will be a collection of Pins). Within the App I can create the Pin and write it to the table in Bubble and I can create a Map too. I am now at the stage of linking the two Objects and this is where I am stuck.

All examples I have seen regarding Object/Thing relationships have been within the Bubble app interface and its own Workflows and does not delve into the API workflows (are they even different?).

The next step in my App is to allow the Pin to be assigned to a Map (or multiple Maps) as part of the Pin creation. I call in the dynamic list of Maps for the user to pick, I just need to actually make the link on Pin creation. A Pin can exist on many maps and a Map will contain many different Pins.

Two sticking points for me are:

1. How do I create the Pin, get the ID and then place it in the Map objects “Pin” list field?
    (This field is of the “Pin” Data type and is a list).
  2. How do I have the Pin then have a list of maps it appears on in the “Maps” field?
    (This field is of the “Map” Data type and is a list).