Dungyn (For the Nerds)

Hello! I thought I would share the progress of a super nerdy app I’m developing.

Here’s a little bit of backstory:
I started playing dungeons and dragons with some friends a while back, and I don’t know if you know much about it, but there is lots of paper, pencils, and math involved. I had installed every app I could find for keeping track of all the things you needed to, and some were better than others, but I ran into several problems I couldn’t find a solution to.

Problem #1
Custom characters only existed on the device they were created on. So we (the players) didn’t have access to each others information, like health and conditions (“knocked down” for example).

Problem #2
You couldn’t see everyone’s health all at the same time. Which is an important thing to know for picking a target for example. You generally want to go for the one with the lowest health.

Problem #3
There was still too much combat math involved for my liking.

So my solution was to create an app where you could create a campaign (a world with a story where the game takes place) and invite players to that campaign, each of which have created a character. So now you have a campaign with players and characters in it. You can then create something called an “encounter” which is an instance where the players come across a monster. That encounter is a list of characters, both the players and the monsters. That is displayed in the “combat” window. You can see every character’s health, temporary health, combat status (“injured” for example) and conditions.
Because bubble is live updating, the health bars move in real time, and I’ve even added sound effects!

If you read this all the way through you are a saint. Thank you so much. I know for people unfamiliar with the game this may not make much sense, but I hope they can still appreciate the design aspect.

TL;DR: