Hi Total Newbie

How do I build the block feature on a dating site type build ?
What step do I follow anyone know or link to tutorial would be great

Hi there, @anon7044910… one way to go about building a block feature would be to have a field on the User data type called something like blocked, and make that field a list of users. Then, when User A blocks User B, for example, add User B to User A’s blocked field. With such a list in place, you would be able to build other functionality around it, such as checking a user’s blocked list to see if another user should be able to contact them.

I doubt you will find a tutorial on how to build this exact feature, but hopefully my response can help you get going.

Best…
Mike

Thanks, that kinda makes sense.
Still leaves a lot of blanks. I was kinda expecting this to be a set category with options to configure with parameters to adjust. Your saying I’d have to set/patch this up myself.
I only started this today and seen a few tutorials.
Typically they only give bits of information that leads to no information required .

The functionality would be totally dependent upon how you are building your app, so yes, you would have to set/patch it up yourself based on the needs of your app. That being said, there are a ridiculous number of templates out there, and maybe one of them has a block feature in it. I never use templates because that would defeat my purpose of using Bubble (total control over the build), but you should check them out if you don’t want to build from scratch.

I think I get the idea of it now I would just like to see an examples of how it works then build or adjust from there. Maybe need to study a lot more. I built a wix and 1 on 1 web site with page buttons. This is just a bit more in depth I am assuming as to paths ?
I just need to tinker I guess.
Do I have to pay to see what the site would be like as a user do you know ?
I know I can preview but is this as a user or the visitor ?