Keeping Conditionals active between pages?

Hey there,

I have an Ionic Toggle Switch where (via the use of Conditionals) I’m activating a Dark Mode for my pages. This works great, but how do I keep the conditionals active for when a user visits different pages, I cannot get it to work currently…

dark_between_pages

Conditionals don’t persist across pages, but there are two things you can try. You can add a field to the user and save the value to the DB, or you can use page parameters and pass the dark mode value in the URL as you navigate. Id probably save it on the user myself.

Just wondering, is there a reason you aren’t doing it that way today?

1 Like

Thanks Andrew

Because I’m still learning Bubble :grinning:

How would I achieve the method you mentioned exactly? The user field option?

Many thanks

1 Like

add in the database a field to the user called darkmode (yes/no)

And how would I save this to the DB field? That part I don’t understand?

thanks

You need to create a workflow which is triggered on switching. In this Worklow you can select ‘Make change to thing’ and select the user. The user has the field darkmode and if the user selected dark then put yes is this field otherwise no

1 Like

@olcay.elikci beat me to the response. Let us know if you need additional help.

I’m glad you’re getting into Bubble! I hope my question didn’t come off as passive-aggressive…there are hundreds of ways of doing things in Bubble, so I always ask just in case someone figured something neat out!

1 Like

Hey Marc,

Yes best route is to save this data to the ‘User’ data type, so that when he or she comes back and signs in its remembered.

On the ‘User’ data type create a new field as follows:
You could set the default to ‘false’ (unless you want the opposite of course)

On the Ionic Toggle element, right click and ‘Start/edit workflow’.
Apply a ‘Only when…’ condition
Under ‘Account’ > ‘Make changes to the current user’

Then right click the workflow item, copy