List of 'last' records matching a criteria

HI All, thank you for all the useful info - I appreciate it !

I have a database which creates a topic number for each new topic and once the topic is created - the new records for the same topic all bear the same topic number, for example :

Topic Created : To create an email campaign.
Topic Number : 35

Now everytime someone posts re this (35- To create an email campaign.) they use the topic code 35.

so database looks somewhat like this

Topic No. Date Remark

34 1-7-23 Started topic - assigned to x
34 2-7-23 X needs approval from Manager
35 4-7-23 To create an email campaign
35 5-7-23 Awaiting Manager Approval
35 6-7-23 Approved by manager

So I have 5 records above.

I need a report of only the two ‘latest’ records in from each field (topic no.).
So I need the following report only (of 2 records).

Sorry I am new at this and so glad and thankful to anyone who can help.

I had noticed in another post that I can mark the new records by a marker (current=yes) and mark older records as (curent=no), i am presuming this is through a backend workflow but I dont know how to do that.,

Thanks so much in advance :slight_smile:

Hi @vijay2

Your report requirement is unusual, so you will need to be precise …

What does the ‘two’ refer to, where in the example you show only one record from each topic?

How many records will be in the table?

Thanks so much for help :
The table wil be large and will have many records.
In th enexample given there are 2 topic nos : 34 and 35, so I need only the last (latest) from each of the topics.
I will repeat the output desired and elaborate :

Since there are 2 topics in the table / database ie 34 and 35, I want the the latest records from the 34, and 35 numbered topics

I wil add come more larger table

Data :

34 1-7-23 Started topic - assigned to x

35 4-7-23 Started topic To create an email campaign
35 5-7-23 Awaiting Manager Approval

36 2-7-23 Started Topic X