Forum Academy Marketplace Showcase Pricing Features

Multi-select dropdown not showing default values - bug or not?

Hi All,

I’m fairly new to Bubble so before I raise a bug ticket for this I thought I should check here first, in case I’m missing something obvious. The issue is somewhat difficult to explain, so I have created a forum app for it (my first one so I hope I have done it right). The app is at https://bubble.io/page?type=page&name=multidropissue&id=forumapp3&tab=tabs-1

Overview
My app has two types of users - parents and their children. A parent enrols the child for a number of subjects. I can successfully do this but when I try to create a group (my app is a one-page app) for editing the subjects (after initial addition), the multi-select dropdown for the subjects does not show the subjects the child is already enrolled for. I have tried this with both auto-binding and a default value search.

To reproduce the problem, please follow the steps below. Note that I have tried three approaches to solving the problem. Approach #3 works but it is not what I want. Basically, I need option 1 to work and I can’t see why it doesn’t

Approach 1 - preferred (Navigate from child list on parent group to child’s dashboard group and then to Edit Subject group)

1. Login as [email protected] with password ‘password’
  2. On the resulting Parent Profile group , click on the first (topmost) icon in the repeating group (the user icon)
  3. On the resulting Dashboard group, click on each of the Edit Subjects buttons in turn
    Expected Result: On the resulting Edit Subjects group, at least one of the multi-select dropdowns should show the existing subjects for child
    Actual Result: Existing subjects are not shown.
    Note: I have 3 versions of the multi-select dropdown because I have again tried three approaches there - auto-binding being one of them and the other two are search-based default values.