P2p markerplace payments... with a catch. Any clever solutions?

Hi everyone - I’ve had some amazing help from this forum so I thought I’d pick your brains on this… I will say that I’m a total beginner at this,

I am creating a non-profit p2p ‘marketplace’ to match people with items to donate (specifically children’s outdoor clothing) with people on restricted incomes who need them. Right now I’m creating a simple version of the site and hope to secure some corporate sponsorship but right now this needs to be as low cost as possible.

Most of the items listed will be posted and the users sending them have the option of covering the cost of postage themselves or asking the user receiving the item of paying the postage cost. I’d like to make it as easy as possible for users to send and receive postage costs but:

1. I can’t really ask the sender to pay the payment fee (for stripe connect etc) as they’ve just kindly donated an item
  2. I can’t really ask the receiver to pay the payment fee, the whole point is they’re struggling financially.
  3. I definitely can’t afford to cover the payment fee myself!

So it seems like my options are:

a. Require the sender to supply something like a paypal.me address when listing an item with a postage charge. Then direct the receiver to the sender’s paypal.me url when they request an item. They input the postage cost themselves, complete the payment, then close the paypal tab to return to my site and click a button marked ‘payment sent’ or similar. This is such a mess - it makes the user do a lot of work, relies on them to follow instructions & get the postage amount right, and I have no way to confirm that they actually sent a payment.

b. Keep the whole payment side of it off site - just put the requesting user and sending user in touch so they can sort it out between themselves.

What would you do? Are there any other options or services I’m missing? I would really appreciate any advice or suggestions. Thank you!