Forum Academy Marketplace Showcase Pricing Features

Pull from a linked Data Type when entering Dynamic Data

I’m struggling to understand how to get data based on relationships I have set up in my database tables. I’m specifically referring to using dynamic expressions to get the data. I’m going to use standard language as I’m still learning to move over to Bubble’s terminology. In your response, please feel free to use Bubble terminology and use old terminology where you think it would add clarity.

How would I type a dynamic expression to get to the following:

1. The score in the record in the Scores Table circled in red and thus the value of 9.8. (Typically in my SQL string WHERE statement I’d say WHERE ProjectID = 1, Topic = 1)
  2. The Category name of Sport. (Typically in my SQL string WHERE statement I’d say WHERE CategoryID = 1)

Below is an example of a database structure.

Hi,

What is your query starting point, in other words what is the data source (data type) you are coming from?

Also, it could come in handy to screenshot your data types straight from bubble rather than their RDB equivalent… :wink: just to see if you’ve translated things properly in bubble structuring language

1. The score in the record in the Scores Table circled in red and thus the value of 9.8. (Typically in my SQL string WHERE statement I’d say WHERE ProjectID = 1, Topic = 1)

Do a search for Scores, with the following constraints:

ProjectID = 2
TopicID = 4

… that will return a list of Scores which match those search constraints, so you’ll need to add an operator to specify which item from that list you want to refer to…

… assuming that list only contains a single item (which will be the case when you know there is only one item matching the constraints) it doesn’t really matter whether you use :first item :last item :random item or item #1, although generally :first item is the recommended choice here (it really makes no difference though, as they are all the same item)