Showing a placeholder in a RG where there is no data

Hi everyone, I’m just getting into bubble so I’m sorry if I’m being a bit naive. What I’m trying to do is this:

I have created a table with fields for Month, Year, etc so I’m happy that once the data is there I can create a RG and make it 1 row by 4 columns. I’ve tested it out and the conditional settings for setting the ‘status’ works a dream. But where I am struggling is this…

…I want to have the ‘placeholder’ image show up on the empty columns. Otherwise I’m going to have to create all of the data for every client by hand! I would like to be able to have an image that encourages them to click on it and fill in the data (which will auto populate the month/year). I’m happy with the data entry bit but I just can’t get the ‘placeholder’ image to show up.

I’ve tried ‘is empty’ conditions and all sorts but I can’t fill all 4 columns up. It must be so simple but I have missed something.

Help!!! Please!?!!

Looks like a great community here. I can do some basic code but this looks like an awesome product. Don’t flame me but it kinda reminds me of Microsoft Access back in the day!

Hi @paul4, welcome to Bubble!

The main thing to understand here is that a repeating group cell needs a data source. If the cell cannot reference a record, it will not be able to display anything (as you’ve seen), let alone display anything under a condition.

I see what you’re wanting to do though. Here is one solution…

There is a plugin called Toolbox that lets you generate a list of numbers (it’s an invisible element that you add to the page). You can define the list to be #1-4.

Set your RG’s type to number and set the source to this element’s value. Now, each cell has a data source: a number. Instead of the cell directly referencing a record in your database (to pull image, text fields, etc), the cell will need to search your database for that record with the number source as an identifier.

Example: