Forum Academy Marketplace Showcase Pricing Features

[Solved] Relational Data

Hi There,

I am new to Bubble and still trying to wrap my head around how to relate data within Bubble. I have a client intake page that any number of clients can access to input their details (name, phone, email, address, etc…) that data is saved in a thing called client. After they have input their info and click “next”, they are taken to a different page where they are given a questionnaire. The answers to their questionnaire is saved in a thing called questionnaire. Each client only has 1 questionnaire which can then be edited by an admin later…My question is how do I relate the client who is entering the data to the questionnaire? so that after they input their client info, that info is linked with the questionnaire they are filling out?

Thanks in advance,

Matt

1 Like

There are several ways to do this:

If your clients are also creating user accounts (with login/password): You can add a field to both type client and type questionnaire that is a field type user and save the current user to each of those things when they get created. You’ll be able to retrieve them via those fields.

If your clients are not logged in users: add a field (type client) to your questionnaire data type and a field (type questionnaire) to your client data type. Then make the questionnaire page type “client”. When the user clicks whatever button it is that navigates to the questionnaire page, send the newly created client entry data to that page as well. Then when you click the button that creates the questionnaire, save current page’s client to the questionnaire’s client field AND make a change to current page’s client > save newly created questionnaire to questionnaire field. Now both are related to each other.

You can also achieve without having a page be a specific data type by sending a URL parameter, but let me know of the above makes sense and/or works for what you need.

6 Likes