[Product enhancement] New page load speed improvements

Hi everyone, my name is Jennifer, and I’m a Lead Technical Product Manager at Bubble. Excited to announce we’ve cut our JavaScript payload by 7%, saving over 300kb per page load. This means faster load times for all apps built on Bubble!

This little update is just the beginning - it’s a step towards significantly faster load times across Bubble in 2024.

We’ll keep everyone updated on further improvements we make in the new year. Happy Holidays!

40 Likes

Awesome! Could you tell us how? Is js loaded dynamically or just removed unneeded js?

2 Likes
  1. Great!
  2. If the JS has become more efficient, will this also mean reduced WU usage? One would guess that if Bubble itself is loading less resources and therefore reducing page load speed, it should affect our usage charges as well.
7 Likes

I’m sorry but where is the data supporting this claim? From a new app created in april to experiment with WU I have recorded the network tab on a page and the js size in Byte is:
early.js 23813
run.js 2546522
static.js 20335
dynamic.js 53320
total 2643990

Same app, empty page, tested just now, the js size in Byte is:
early.js 24223
pre_run_jquery.js 89795
run.js 3430277
static.js 602301
dynamic.js 96629
total 4243225

What am I missing?

Edit: I was not on the last bubble version. I updated to version 28 and tried again:
early.js 24223
pre_run_jquery.js 89795
run.js 3402494
static.js 602301
dynamic.js 96732
total 4215545

Maybe this is another optimization that happens only in the live app? I always assumed there wasn’t a build step before deployment of the live version.
I am sure I am missing something.

Edit2: I created a new empty app and repeated the load of an empty page:
early.js 24223
pre_run_jquery.js 89795
run.js 3402494
static.js 16608
dynamic.js 88053
total: 3621173

Edit3: mystery solved :slight_smile:
The size went up after april and this is the initial result of the work done to bring it down.

8 Likes