API Response / Multi-dimensional arrays

Hi there

I am totally new to bubble, but I have some years in traditional programming under the belt. What I am struggling with is the handling of API responses.

I want the user to enter an URL and the query then FreeAPI from BuiltWith.com - it returns a multidimensional array with information about a website for instance “technologies used”.

Now in PHP I would take the API response object, iterate over the Object Items (or Array Lists) and write each of it into a table “Tech” and reference it to a table “Websites”.

This way I would get back something like

| UID | Website                 |
+-----+-------------------------+
|  1  | ibm.com                 |
+-----+-------------------------+

and

| Website UID       |  Tech            |
+-------------------+------------------+
| 1                 | Jquery           |
| 1                 | Analytics        |
| 1                 | Magento          |
+-------------------+------------------+

Now with bubble I seem to be lost already at the conceptual level. How do I iterate over the result objects list? Some like FOR EACH… Or how do I implement a conditional (if entry does not exist then…)

I spent the better part of last night reading the reference, documentation, searching the forum or watching videos - but still not sure I am looking in the right direction.

Hi steven4,

Nice to see a fellow user of BuiltWith.com, awesome platform!

I struggle with a similar issue as you: on how to handle an API response that contains an array of items. I’m integrating Bubble with some UPS-API’s.

Have you been able to find ways to achieve this?
I’ll keep trying and reply to this thread when I do find answers.

So I think I have found a solution, for my issue anyway. Maybe this helps you too, steven4, or perhaps other Bubble users that want to work with API responses that contain arrays of things. I’ll explain it briefly here and if anyone would need more explanation please reply.