Ensuring case sensitive unique usernames with only specific characters

I’ve been trying to make a working system for this and I have read pretty much every forum post on this topic, but I haven’t found a full solution for this system. Maybe I’m overlooking something, I’m fairly new to bubble.

So I have a field where users can change their username, and I want to make sure:

• Usernames are unique (So if username “John” is taken, no one can take “john” as a username)
  • Can only contain letters a-z, numbers 0-9, and underscores (_).
  • Usernames are stored case sensitive

I thought I could take usernames from the database and temporarily turn it to uppercase and compare it to the input’s value which is also temporarily turned uppercase. But I can’t seem to do that with the database text. As for limiting characters to only those types, I’m unsure how to go about it.

How do I go about doing this? :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

^(?=.{8,20}$)(?![.])(?!.*[.]{2})[a-zA-Z0-9.]+(?<![.])$

That regex expression seems pretty nice, where do I implement it? I’m new to regex and bubble.

for case do a search:lowercase

How? It does not let me set :lowercase on search data.

or save them lowercase then you can format them like :capitalised words later.

I want to allow people to make usernames like this; “userName”. So that won’t really work(?).

im passing out rn but can make you a demo later

That would be awesome. :slightly_smiling_face:

Hey @marcuslate,

Here’s one way of doing it:

username

It uses the free Instant Text plugin as this gives immediate feedback to the user, rather than waiting for the delay in a standard input.