Extract text between parentheses

How do I only show dynamic texts between parentheses? for example, Mcdonalds (MCD)

I want to only display MCD, and not the whole text.

Regex. Is that built in?

but how do I do it? yes regrex is available.

There’s got to be a better way to do this - - but for the meantime you can do this:

1 Like

huhu

what I wanna do is extract the value of the search input and find the string between the parentheses and display the new text on a repeating group. I don’t want to show the whole text

is there a way to use regrex cuz I have never used this feature before

I don’t know regex that well, I hope someone that does can chime in. Maybe this will work:

\(([^)]*)\)
\(             # Escaped parenthesis, means "starts with a '(' character"
    (          # Parentheses in a regex mean "put (capture) the stuff 
               #     in between into the Groups array" 
       [^)]    # Any character that is not a ')' character
       *       # Zero or more occurrences of the aforementioned "non ')' char"
    )          # Close the capturing group
\)             # "Ends with a ')' character"

Source: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/378415/how-do-i-extract-text-that-lies-between-parentheses-round-brackets/4822334

@j805 www.NoCodeMinute.com

Hope that helps! :blush:

1 Like

so this worked but I don’t wannt show the parentheses

Hmm. Well I don’t know regex very well but you can do a ‘find and replace’ to remove the parentheses.

Maybe someone can chime in to tell you how to do it in one step if they know regex. :blush:

1 Like

ffff

Thank you I have achieved the purpose but not exactly what I wanted it. It seems like when I use the rich text the regrex removes the text.

ffff

Wow - how did you figure that out?!

first step step 2 step 3

I have copied the expression
(([^)]*)) in the regex and then used find&place to eliminate parentheses

3 Likes

So it works now? Did you get everything in the right order? :+1::blush: