Prepping The Database For a Large Group Chat

Hello,

I am a beginner Bubbler (about 1 month of experience now) and am working on an app that will have a group chat functionality. I would like it to be ready to handle groups of at least 50-100 users each and be ready to handle conversations with thousands of messages.

I’ve purchased some paid messaging templates (and checked out some free ones as well) to get some ideas on how to tackle this, and am noticing a pattern: that the general approach to store group chats in the data tab is to create “lists” of messages, and then output them using a repeating group:

I’m just not completely sure if this approach is scalable, or meant for much smaller group chats.
Do you think this is the most scalable approach?
If not, how would you go about structuring the data for larger groups?

Thank you in advance!

I haven’t built a chat app… but I share your concern with the approach of storing a discussion’s messages in a list field in the discussion datatype.

I would do it the other way around… in the messages datatype, have a field that connects it with a specific discussion.

1 Like

“List of Messageses” :rofl:

But, in all seriousness, if a Message is a Thing (a custom datatype) there’s no harm in a “Discussion” having a field that’s a List of type “Message” on it.

The converse (a Message has a List of type “Discussion” on it) is only useful if a Message might belong to multiple Discussions… which strikes me as unlikely.

Again, in all seriousness, Scalar Things should be named in the singular (e.g., the Thing is a “Message”).

If you then have a field of multiple “Messages” on it (that is, a List of Messages), it’s OK to call that field “Messages”, but it might be better to name that field “Message List”.

1 Like

Consider what happens if we now construct a List of Discussions. If a Discussion has a field called “Messages”, we now see the List’s (of Discussions) Messages as a List of Discussion’s Messageses