If you use the collaboration tab within your app editor to transfer the app to another user, then the entire app will be transferred to their account. You would no longer have access to it on your account. They would have to add you as a collaborator to the app for you to regain access.
You could copy the application, then transfer the copy to your friend from the copied app’s collaboration tab within its editor.