Updating Plugins in Your Bubble App for 2024

Update 12/12: Homepage notifications are now live!

Update 12/7 6pm: We’re holding off on making changes to the homepage because we caught some issues in testing and we want to be sure that it’s stable before we deploy it. Changes in the editor are live!

Hi all, my name is Henry and I’m a Product Manager here at Bubble.

Starting soon, you may notice that some of your plugins show a warning in the plugins tab stating that they need an update. Others may be marked as “deprecated” (out-of-date) and could lose some functionality in 2024. Here’s a bit more about what’s going on and what you’ll need to do.

As you may know, Bubble has a robust ecosystem of plugin developers. We allow plugin developers to create, own, and market their tools to help you build out even more functionality and integrations with our platform.

On a technical level, plugin developers use code that interacts with Amazon Web Services (AWS) to create no-code solutions for various functions.

Starting in 2024, AWS plans to remove a specific function that some Bubble plugin authors use for specific server-side actions. About 10% of plugins are affected. We’ve given these plugins’ authors eight months of warning and lead time to update their plugins’ code syntax by January 2024.

Once a plugin is updated by the author, you’ll have until March 12, 2024 to update it on your end before it may begin to behave unexpectedly. So if you see a plugin with an “Update” label, it means you should press the update button to ensure that it continues functioning. If you see a “Deprecated” label, this means that the plugin author has not yet updated their plugin to a new version and it might behave unexpectedly after March 12.

TLDR: What should I do?

1. Go into the plugins tab of your app.