Adding a CSS component

Hi,

I am new to bubble, and I have been trying for a while now to experiment with adding some CSS stylings to my pages, but to no avail. I added inline CSS inside the HTML component, but that is very limited, and sometimes I want to add a style for the entire page.

I tried adding the style in the header, but it didnt work either. Did anyone manage to make such changes? Any advice would be super appreciated.

Cheers

1 Like

@samednakhla You can definitely put styles in the page header.

If you are looking to add styles just for a particular page, this is where to do that:

page-header

If you want to add styles which you would be able to access from any page, go to Settings > SEO / metatags > Advanced settings > Script/meta tags in the header.

Whichever you end up using, make sure you include the HTML <style> tag like this:

<style>
/* Your CSS goes here */
</style>

Now that you know how, here’s also a word of warning based on my experience. I use this approach quite a lot, but it’s not a panacea. Bubble’s antiquated approach of absolute positioning of elements on the page will quickly make you go crazy once you start applying your custom CSS. A good rule of thumb is that tweaking positioning and responsiveness usually breaks things, whereas changing what the element looks like doesn’t. Fingers crossed their upcoming switch to Flexbox fixes the former for good, but until then, it is what it is.

Thanks @chaostorm , I actually managed to add it shortly after posting just like you showed, and but it doesn’t work very well … just like you said, I am going nuts with the positioning of the elements I am adding on the page, I dont understand how bubble is placing them.

That is some awesome news about Flexbox, any idea when that will be available?

You are welcome!

Based on @josh’s last community update, sometime soon: