Bubble as a LMS?

How’s it going all? I’m at a crossroad here, trying to decide if I should have an LMS built to host my SCORM content and do some pretty unique things (which I would need to put in significant investment to do, and am prepared to do, if need be. However, that carries with it a good amount of risk) or if I could build something like that in bubble. The reason I’m asking now is that I don’t want to invest a significant amount of time learning the tool, only to find that it’s not going to work for my purposes. Because I’m a free agent, time misspent is money out of my pocket, and when working without a safety net, those are things you tend to avoid.
I am a big user of Articulate Storyline and two of the main things I’d like to accomplish with my LMS is 1) to be able to call to a completely different story from another one and 2) be able to enable spaced repetition so that if a user encounters something for the first time, it will prompt them to see it again after a period of time has passed. And once they’ve seen it the second time, a longer period of time will pass…
Is that all too lofty in Bubble? Anyone have any insight into whether or not you think I could do it here? If so, I’m ready to spend some time really getting to know the tool and building it.
Thanks so much in advance.

2 Likes

Bubble is completely capable of handling scenarios like this. One of the better LMS-type apps I’ve seen on Bubble so far is from @copilot. You can see an example of their courses here. While I wouldn’t consider it a full blown LMS, it’s definitely half-way there.

5 Likes

Any chance you can help some of with what LMS and SCORM mean?

LMS (I believe) means “Learning management system”
SCORM = “Shareable Content Object Reference Model” which is a specific way to make a LMS

2 Likes

There are plenty of tested LMS that implement SCORM successfully. Do not overcomplicate things by trying to replicate in Bubble.