Can someone please double check my backend workflow schedule a workflow delete data

Dear users,
I’m a complete beginner and I need some advice en help.

I bought a real estate marketplace thimo. I had to install a backend workflow becouse I want to delete the listing of the user after 60 days
Did I do it right? Won’t I lose all my data?
I’m insecure.

KInd regards
Stijn from Belgium

What I would do is remove the “schedule workflow” action in your backend workflow and put it where the listing is created, i.e. a button

2 Likes

Think of it this way…

You have a backend workflow called ‘deletedataafter60days’.

When that workflow is triggered, it will run through the steps within it:

In your case, Step 1 of the workflow ‘deletedataafter60days’ is to trigger the workflow ‘deletedataafter60days’ 60 days after it is triggered (in other words it will trigger itself on an infinite loop).

So when the workflow is triggered it will schedule itself to run again in 60 days time, and then another 60 days time, and another 60 days, and so on forever more.

This is NOT what you want.

The ‘Schedule API Workflow deletedataafter60days’ action needs to happen in whichever workflow is used to create the property in the first place. So when a property is created, it’s scheduled for deletion 60 days later.

The only step this workflow needs is to delete the property you want to delete.

So get rid of Step 1 - you only need 1 step - ‘Delete Property’

Also it doesn’t need to be exposed as a public endpoint (unless it’s being triggered externally), and you don’t need to have a key for ‘current date’ (Bubble knows the current date).

The workflow should simply have a key for Property (which is type Property) - this will be the property that you want to delete:

Step one will simply delete the ‘Property’ passed into the workflow in the ‘Property’ key from whatever triggers it:

That’s all there is to it.