Data Entry form for Contacts to identify duplicates

Hi I am new to bubble and also new to programming.
I am trying to create a form to manually enter all the contacts, store and list them in a table.
I have been able to create a form and also list the submissions in the table. Now I need to figure our a way to validate the entries to avoid duplicates.
If user enters the emailid and second name same as what is already in DB and submits the form, it should show a message that this contact already exists do you wish to overwrite? If user hits yes, the DB entry gets over written.
Any help will be highly appreciated. Thanks

Hi there, @blueoceans2002… if I understand your post correctly, one way you can do what you described is to create two workflow events, one that runs when a count of contacts with the same email address is greater than 0 and one that runs when the count is 0. So, something like this…

In the event where the count is 0, you would have an action that creates a new contact. In the event where the count is greater than 0, you would have an action that shows the message about overwriting the existing contact. You would likely have a button on the message that confirms that the user wants to overwrite the contact. When that button is clicked, you would run a workflow that makes changes to a thing, and the thing to change would be the first item of a search for contacts where the email address is the same as the email that has been entered in the input field.

Hope this helps.

Best…
Mike

Hi @mikeloc thank you so much, the proposed solution is very helpful. I will implement that.
However I have an interesting scenario where I would like to validate two entries within the form for its uniqueness which is email and the last name as an additional check.