Help with incrementing a numeric value

Probably very basic, but I’m a beginner so please bear with me. I tried search but all of the answers I could see went right over my head.

I have a Data Type called “Clients” with Fields “Unique ID”, “Client Name”, “Client email” etc. These are displayed in a Repeating Group, next to some input fields and an “Add New” button, so new clients can be added. This is working great so far, except I need the Unique ID number to auto-increment by one every time the Add New button gets clicked.

The tutorial “Reddit Style Upvote City” isn’t quite what I need, in fact it’s probably confused me more. I would be very grateful if anyone could make a quick GIF or YouTube video on this.

When a client is added, you create a new thing, type of thing Clients, Unique ID = Do A Search For Clients:count + 1

2 Likes

Thank you very much for the fast reply :grinning:

1 Like

If you are adding the clients and all clients are shown in the repeating group, you could eliminate the need for do a search of the database which could slow down the app. For example if you have a user who has a list of clients, which is in the database storing all clients of all users, that list could be long and take time to search through…it also wouldn’t increment correctly on the user who is viewing their list of clients and adding new clients to their list.

Instead of using the do a search for you can use the repeating groups list of clients :count+1

This way you are not incrementing based on the entire list of all clients of all users, instead just incrementing for that particular users clients list.

Any time you can find a way to eliminate a need for a search of the database it is a good thing. Using other elements data as datasources can help with that often.

If however, you want to increment on the entire list of all clients of all users, the solution provided earlier obviously works.