How to create a "type of type"

Hello the community,

Before everything, thanks so much for this forum, I’m new to Bubble (which is amazing!) and this forum really helps me !

Unfortunately I reached a limit for me and I don’t find any answer here…but my issue seems simple I guess.

Let’s say:

I have two types in my database :

“Basket” with variables like “basket name”,“size”, “color”…

“Fruit” with variables like “type”,“size” , “number”,…

What about if I create a repeating group of the different baskets I have and when I click on one, I’m redirected to a page, where the fruits presents in this basket are displayed.

I’m stuck with this…How do I create sort of sub-types “Fruits” for each of the basket ?

Hope I’m understandable! As a non programmer, Bubble helps me a lot to enter in the logic of programming but not sure I already have the skill to well explain my problem :slight_smile:

Thanks!

Matt

You can put a field on the Basket of type Fruit, and make it a list. Then, you add Fruits to that list. That’ll get you what you’re looking for! (I think :slight_smile: )

1 Like

Clear and simple! I didn’t realize that a field can be a type…thanks!

In Bubble, there are two ways to associate multiple items of one type to another type. (In database-talk, this is called a many-to-one relationship.)

Bubble lets you create a field which contains a list of items. This is NOT standard database methodology. It’s generally frowned up. But Bubble makes it work. However, I would use it only for short lists, and probably when the list is fairly static. And of course, the items in this list can only have one attribute.

Personally, I think I’ll rarely if ever use lists.

The other way is as potentialthings said. Another type, used as a field in the first type. Works beautifullly. This is called a Relational Database.

1 Like

Thanks for the explanation!

One question then, in this setting of Relationnal Database: