Interested to hear if others built apps with external database?

Hi Bubblers

Experimenting with building an app with an external database and wonder if anyone has taken this strategy and how they found the performance?

There is a reason for this, so interested to hear about others experiences?

PS long time Bubble user so feel free to talk straight.

Cheers!

2 Likes

Iā€™ve implemented an interface for others in the form of plugins, so I have some experience to share :blush:
Itā€™s usually fine after itā€™s implemented. Itā€™s not cheap or quick to do a full implementation. Not always a full implementation is needed, it can be partial and that makes it less costly in time and money.

Also, in terms of how it feels, when the interface, and by interface I mean workflow actions created in the plugin that performs the Search, Create, Read, Update and Delete operations, is through server side actions they have an unwanted delay of 2 to 3 seconds, whereas when we make them client side, they get ultra fast, instant to the human feel, they take from 200 to 350ms, which would be 0.2 to 0.3 seconds for the ones not used to work with web requests closely :yum:

And to use the interface firing the requests from the browser instead of involving Bubbleā€™s server twice as a middleman, once to fire the request and again to receive the response then send to the browser (which is what adds the 3 seconds delay), itā€™s needed to use JWT or SSO to auth instead of just secrets held in Bubbleā€™s server.

I think this sums it up :wink:

3 Likes

I have an Bubble app in closed beta right now that is connected to a MySQL database on Amazon AWS/RDS. For my use case, itā€™s been great. The database currently has 10ā€™s of thousands of rows, so not very big at the moment but big enough Iā€™m confident in the architectureā€™s capabilities. The Bubble SQL Connector has worked great, itā€™s fast, and the system is scalable.

Joey

4 Likes

Hi @StevenM,