Its Easy to Scale Users, but Its Very Hard to Scale Features

In the next 2 or so minutes, I am going to save you a lot of money if you want to get your app built, save you a lot of time if you are building your own app and how to scale features if you have an existing app

Just as some background, I have been a full time bubble developer for over a year, and my agency has helped over nine companies build amazing softwares

The Problem

I was speaking with a traditional developer last Friday, and he told me that it’s easy to build an app that can scale in terms of users, but it’s very hard to build an app that can scale in terms of features

In my experience, I can attest that this is very true and I think it is one of the major differences between good developers and great developers

Speed is a problem (sorta)

A lot of apps are primarily focused on the speed of development. While this is great, most developers take it too far, they compromise on quality and a proper scoping phase to understand what the client wants now, and what features will come in the next 3-36 months.

When proper scoping and speed is prioritized, it means the developer hasn’t thought about

• How structure the database to accommodate new features the client has talked about wanting in the future
  • Or how to create a design system that allows you to build new pages on an app without having to reinvent the wheel
  • Or they don’t use proper naming conventions on elements and workflows, meaning when you have to edit the app in the future, it will be a mess and will take far longer than it should. (meaning more cost for the client)
  • Or workflows are not sorted in folders and colors, and no notes have been made on the app

The Result

In the short term, you have software that works, but in 1-3 years, you will reach a breaking point.

This is when companies say that bubble sucks and they have to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to swap to traditional coding to scale their app further