Make server-side action open a URL

Hello,

Does anyone know if it’s possible to make a server-side action run an API to get a URL and then open the URL for the user in their browser?

I’m new to bubble plugins and I’ve been trying to figure it out all day but I’ve got to the point where I’ve decided It’s not possible for the server-side script to do something in the user’s browser.

Asking here to see if some experts know any better before I try something else.

Thanks!

2 Likes

You could create an endpoint, return the url and make the call using the API connector instead of scheduling the API workflow.

Take into account that if you have to process a lot of data in the server side you will have to wait a few seconds before getting the response.

you could have the server side script return a value

And every time that value is returned it could fire a “when true “ conditional workflow.

It changes a state when it fires

That changed state (also associated with a do when true workflow) not only pops open the redirect but can also reset the state if needed

Thanks for the advice,

Similar to what’s been suggested I’m going to get it to return a value (the URL) that can be used in the next workflow step. I’ll then create a separate client-side action to open the URL.

I was hoping that I could make it as simple as possible all in one server-side action the same as the bubble stripe plugin when it creates a checkout when you get the user to pay.

I’m currently having issues with the server-side script timing out. Looking at the logs the HTTP request is running ok and returning the JSON body, but my action is just timing out. I’m quite stuck again now.

Wanna share your code?

I’m imagining there’s a sync code involved?

sure @jared.gibb

function(properties, context) {

@hbee Someone else looking for Square integration. :thinking:

1 Like

Have you returned the error, just to check?