Navigation through pages using view history

Hi!
(bubble newbie here)

I have a “Product List” page using Airtable. The filters on the page are dropdown lists with values that come from Option Sets and that are exactly the same as Airtable fields, so that the filtering works fine. - It all works here.

I am currently using “user_view_history” and “user” datatypes to store the users’ filters’ selection when a product is selected (as you can see below)

The logic is:

• When a user selects a product to view in further detail, that products’ “Style” and “size” are stored in the “user_view_history” linked to the user.
  • As the product was clicked, the “Product Details” page opens.
  • When the user goes back to the “Product List” page, the dropdowns can assume as default values the “Style” and “size” of that user’s history.

Despite that this flow is working, I am wondering if there is a better way to improve navigation, as linking all selecting filters to products and not the exact selection on dropdowns can have some drawbacks.
I am very new to Bubble and I have read some cases with url parameters/slug but don’t quite understand how it could be implemented. This will also become more complex with the repeating group’s pagination (which I would worry about after this step is made)

Can anyone help with this topic? :slight_smile:
Thanks a lot!

Hi there!

If your intention is that a user using the back and forward buttons on a browser would take the user to the page they were viewing before, URL parameters would be the way to go (and also allows a user to send a URL to another user to pull up the same page results). To do this, there are 2 sets of workflows that work in tandem:

1. The workflow to send your parameters to the URL
  2. The Data Source using Get Data from URL to pull parameters from the URL to use as constraints on your search