The plugin makes it mandatory to “Sign the user up” before “Subscribing the user”. Kind of silly. Isn’t it supposed to be the other way round? Here are more problems this introduces.
If the Stripe subscription fails, the User is already signed up. Maybe he/she can access some subscriber-only functionality.
If the user abandons checkout by clicking the back button, all the fields (email, name, etc.) are gone, and user needs to re-enter everything.
Even if the user is patient enough to re-enter everything, he/she is NO longer allowed to use the previous email address as it’s already in the User table.
All these lead to frustration for the user and high abandonment rate. Of course, there are awkward workarounds. But isn’t it easier for everyone if these issues are fixed at the root? It seems like whoever designed these things didn’t put much thought into them.
Sorry, rant over.