API Connector only works sometimes

I am new to the bubble platform but I do have experience coding and working with API’s. I signed up with a personal account to do some testing to see if this system is right for a project I am working on. I need to access data in an external database, but cant do this through the SQL connector because I do not have the IP address that bubble uses since they use a range. This causes an issue getting through the firewall. I know there somewhat workarounds for this but I would have to change hosts.

My solution was to create an API on my hosting side that would allow my bubble app to pull data out of the database through the API Connector plugin. I setup a test API that pulls data out of a test myql I setup to test this theory before proceeding. Here is the basic API I setup to pull the data out of the database on my hosting.

https://kgcadmin.com/rest-api/items/read.php

If you go to that link you will see the json that is returned.

I setup my API Connector like this.

Initialization worked. I then setup a repeating group on my bubble app like this.

Inside of the repeating group I added a textbox that I setup like this.

The issue I am having is when I load my bubble app it only works sometimes. About 1 out of every 10 refreshes of the page actually loads the data. What could possibly be the issue? I know my api on my side returns the data 100% of the time if you go to the page https://kgcadmin.com/rest-api/items/read.php

So why would the API connector only be fetching that data sometimes and not 100% of the time. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.