Basic Subscription System implementation logic

Hi
I am new to bubble, and building apps. I am planning to add a simple monthly subscription system (like in any SaaS) to my app. I’m not concerned about the payment gateway right now, but the basic logic of implementing a subscription/membership system. Let’s assume we have only 1 pricing plan.

What I have in mind right now is to use a scheduled workflow.
I set up two variables in USER datatype to store the no. of days remaining for the subscription, and the subscription status (Active/inactive).
X number of days are added to the "days remaining " variable once a user subscribes/renews his subscription.
Every day, the workflow will check how many days are remaining in the subscription, and change the subscription variable’s value to “Inactive” if days remaining are <1. And we check each time a user logs in, if the user’s subscription status is active or inactive. If inactive then we can redirect to the renewal page (or any other appropriate step as we decide).

Is this the right approach for handling subscriptions, or is there a better way to do this? Also, how would you calculate the days remaining by calculating the:
“expiry date - Today’s Date” ?
Any tutorial reference will be highly appreciated :slight_smile:

If you use stripe you should subscribe them to a plan. You won’t have to handle checking their subscriptions if set up properly. Stripe will automatically handle recurring payments.

If a payment fails, or a user unsubscribes, you set up webhooks so Stripe tells you. You’ll set up backend workflows/apis to account for users who unsubscribe or a payment failed.

T
Learn no code - > nocodify.com

Hi @deejay.shani , how are you?

This is not the best approach for what you are looking for.

The best way is to create another datatype called “Subscriptions”, basically with two columns: User and Expiration date.