Best way to learn how to write APIs for Bubble?

Hello Bubblers!

Bubble newbie here. I’m a co-founder of a mobile/startup SaaS business exploring whether I can be a technical co-founder using Bubble :slight_smile:

I’m currently replicating and extending some of the desktop functions of the existing app on Bubble; exporting the data into Bubble via CSV. The natural next step is to do this automatically via an API with our database (Postgres).

Would you guys recommend any resources for learning how to build this (and more!) APIs?

I have limited coding experience, but can pick it up if that is required. Obviously any recommended no-code API creation platforms would be fantastic.

Cheers :slight_smile:

1 Like

@TobyinSaigon Hey Toby, first of all, YES. You can be a technical co-founder of a mobile/startup SaaS business using bubble. Regarding your api question, do you mean connecting Postgres to your bubble database with API?

Thanks for the reply @ada!

My question is a bit more general. Connecting Postgres using an API is definitely something I’m looking to do, but I also want to understand how to connect things without ready made APIs in the store.

My current app for example (React Native & NodeJS), curious to understand what skills I would need to do this.

@TobyinSaigon Maybe you can check this out: 10 No-Code Tools To Build APIs With | Nordic APIs |

These are a couple of no-code tools to build an API yourself. You may wanna play with them for a while to see which is better.

1 Like

Awesome thanks :slight_smile:

Hello @ada, quick followup if thats OK. I currently have a SQL database (postgres). What is the best way to get the data from that database? The Bubble Data API?

I cant see any option to do that in the data tab, or does it become a datasource for individual elements/RGs?

@TobyinSaigon I think Bubble has a native free plugin to do so. Check if “SQL database connector” helps. Here are some references: