Bubble.is vs Knack + gamification & access to 'source' code

Hi everyone,

I stumbled accross this app builder when browsing the forum of a service I’ve been using for 2 years now: Knack.
I wish I had found Bubble earlier as it seems to be awesome at UI and UX.

I was wondering if anyone here has experience using both platforms and why you choose one over the other to build your app. I love the backend functionality of Knack but Bubble seems far better when it comes to designing a user experience and interface.

I have two additional questions:
Did anyone add any gamification elements to their app or does someone have an example or tutorial regarding user progression in an app? Meaning, you show them different views/form fields based on the progress a user has made in your app?

ANother question: what happens to the app when the plug is pulled on Bubble? It doesnt seem like you have access to the actual code so I was wondering what would happen if bubble closed down. Would you lose everything and have to start from scratch somewhere else or would you be able to export all the code?

Looking forward to taking a deep dive into Bubble!

I used Knackhq for several years.
Pros: Great platform for straight database development. Fast and fairly easy to work with.
Cons: Very limited UI (modifiable via Javescript but very cumbersome ). Very slow deployment of new enhancements. Compare Kack’s blog vs Bubble’s Announcement forum area.

Emmanuel here, cofounder. I won’t comment too much on the differences between Knack and Bubble, as I haven’t used Knack much. At first sight, I’d say Knack puts the DB at the center of the whole process, while we put the UI and the workflow at the center of it, which we think gives more flexibility.