Cancel a recurring event

So I have a free user who has a monthly recurring workflow running on the user’s thing. Now the user subscribes, I want to cancel the original workflow and start the same workflow over again on the user so that it now resets monthly based on this new anniversary. When I select set/cancel recurring workflow, it only appears to be starting a new workflow. Does the new workflow cancel the original?