Complex Database Views

Hi all, I’m new to the Bubble world but have been floating around developing things on various platforms for many years.

I’m about to embark on using Bubble to create an app to store and display scores from gridiron games for nearly 30 years across about 12 different leagues. So as you can understand, it’s got a lot of results, nearly 8000, so I’m wondering if using the inbuilt database and views is really the best way to go. I need to not only be able to input the data (initially at least) but I need to be able to create league ladders for each season via a view and construct dynamic, ongoing results for current seasons without extra work.

Would it be best to start out with the SQL connector straight away or is there something in the Bubble built-in stuff that can help?

This platform is fantastic so far, I’m looking forward to developing some apps and seeing what it can do.

It is hard to say without knowing more about your data, but 8000 records is not necessarily large. I presume a lot of it is partitioned by league, or year, or some other way.

The SQl connector isn’t inherently better. If you have a need to do incredibly complex data transactions and just display the end results in a Bubble app it might be a good choice, but if you are going to have Bubble do all the work and just store the data in an external database I don’t think it is worth the headache.

My recommendation would be to presume you are building it all in Bubble and if you get 30% into the app and find the database limitations irking you, you can always change then.

One caveat, managing your data in Bubble is a pain. There is no reasonable Management Tool for Bubble databases. I have read on the forums that people have used the API to create their own management interface, but since there is no access to the schema via the API, even that has limited use (IMO).