Create a Thing based on comparing Fields

Hello,
I’m new to Bubble and have a problem comparing fields.
I have four fields named 1, 2, 3, 4 and each field has a number.

I want to create a new field which will consist of the name of the field with the highest number.

for instance:
Field 1: 12
Field 2: 4
Field 3: 8
Field 4: 9

New field: “Field 1”

Thanks for help!

Sorry I’m new as well so I could be wrong. I don’t think you can create a new field with the same name as an existing field, which is what you seem to be trying to do.

Hi @jakob.askling - unfortunately you can’t dynamically create new data fields. If your app will be limited to just use Field 1-4 and have a 5th field to capture the highest #, then you can create those five data fields. Assuming fields 1-4 are inputs (I’m assuming the numbers will change), then you can figure out which field has the largest value and copy it to the 5th field (called “Largest Value” of type number).

Alternatively, you could have one input and create new “things” in a workflow (create new instances of a data field called “Field” of type number in the workflow). Using a repeating group, you can show all the values. Then you can determine the largest value in the repeating group and copy it to another data field (“Largest Value” from above). This field would not be in the repeating group.

Thank you for the response @nikolai!
Unfortunately, I couldn’t really apply your example to my program. I guess my information was too unspecific.

I am creating a survey/test with about 8 questions. Each question has 4 answer alternatives that remain the same in each and every question. For example, answer option 1, option 2, option 3 and option 4. I want to gather information on how many questions the user picked every option.

option 1: 3 times
option2: 2 times
option3 6 times
option 4: 2 times