Database Structure Best Practice with List

I have a question on the “Best Practice” for database structure in Bubble. I have some experience with using SQL databases.

Let me give you an example using the User table. Each user in the table will have a Primary Key (Unique ID in Bubble). One of the fields in the User table will be the “Reports To” field. This field would be a Foreign Key that references the Primary Key of the user’s manager. This is the way that I would do it using traditional SQL logic.

However, Bubble has a list of things that is a list of Primary Keys. My question is, should I have a list of Direct Reports on the Manager’s record instead of the manager’s record on the direct report?

Another scenario that is similar. I have 90 Marketing Lists for different marketing efforts and each list 100-200 prospect record. I will add the marketing list into it’s own table and then the prospects will be in another table. Should I have a field on the Marketing List table called “List of Prospects” that will contain the unique_id of each Prospect that is associated with that marketing effort or should I have on the Prospects Table a field called “Marketing List” that is the unique_id of the Marketing List that the record came from?

Thoughts?

Hi Jason,

Bubbles db structure is a bit confusing to anyone with SQL experience, because like you mentioned, you don’t really see the key transactions.

My go to process is always sub links to master, especially if 1 master (manager in your case) can have dozens of of subs (reports). Much cleaner process (imo) to update a users “reports to” field when they get a new manager vs updating a list of reports for a manager.

So if I was building your app, I would do it as you have it set up, but reference the user not the unique id. Under the User table, have the “Reports To” field be a user type that links to the manager user.