Displaying All Files in File Manager

I am a total newbie here. I did quite a bit of searching to try and figure this out on my own, but didn’t really quite find what I need.

I’ve uploaded files in my test environ and can see these files in the Data > File Manager. I want to display all the files posted in a repeating group, but am having trouble actually making that happen. I’m hoping someone here can step me through how to make something simple like this happen.

Thank you in advance!

-Andy Fox

In your workflow after uploading the file, associate the uploaded file’s URL (which you can get via your FileUploader element) with a field of a “thing” in your Bubble App.

Store the above “thing” in your Bubble App database.

After that create a repeating group to display all the above “things” which will have a field consisting of the URL of your files.

(This method will only work for any new files uploaded by you)

Cheers!

2 Likes

Thank you @andrewjohnson56782! I got this to work. Is there any way to also port the File Name and File Size from the File Manager over into corresponding fields in a database? I didn’t see a way to do that…

Thanks again!

af

Any files that are uploaded within the Bubble editor, will be accessible via the Data > File Manager section as you know. But these uploads wont be accessible in the ‘Do a search for’ as they are not stored as a database record in your data types.

Unfortunately there is no way to port over files in bulk, over to a custom data type. You will have to manually enter this data into a data entry or build a very simple interface on the front end that will allow you to upload the file, get the size of the file through the uploader and generate a string as a name.