Looking to create video chat between 2 users. Someone please help

I’m looking to create a social media app. Does anyone how add video chatting between users to an app just like on Facebook messenger or what’s app?

You can try integrating with something like OpenTok https://tokbox.com/ and creating a javascript plugin in Bubble.

You could spin up a room in Gruveo or Appear.in.

I’m a new bubble developer are there any tutorials on how to setup tokbox via javascript?

Hey @andrewlamar06,

Bubblers like @scott.barnett seem to be working on some cool things in that area. Give them a shout. :slight_smile:

Hi @andrewlamar06, this is Scott Barnett. I don’t seem to use the @scott.barnett handle for some reason.

We’ve integrated tokbox into our product, but not directly with Bubble. Instead, we built our side of the tokbox API with javascript and host that separately (created it before Bubble allowed JS Plugins). Then we iFrame the working video into our product so that it seems to users as if it’s a fully integrated product.

I’m happy to help you figure things and avoid some of the mistakes we made. Also open to collaborating to add a tokbox plugin for Bubble. After all, my team probably has the majority of the code we’d need for that already built.

So, let me know what I can do to help. And, happy to jump on a call to explore if that’s easiest.

Scott

2 Likes

Is there a fee for all of this? also to my understanding the code for this functionality is being written and a given to me to integrate with my app on bubble? I’m just a guy with ideas. I’m not familiar with terms like javascript etc. I’m trying to have an understand in layman’s terms of how to bring my app ideas to life.

Tokbox charges a monthly fee based on usage. Minimum fee is $50/mo, but it can be quite a bit higher if you have a lot of usage. Their site details their pricing.