Payment Gateways in South Africa?

Hi Bubble Family,

I am new to Bubble and loving it so far. I would like to know what payment gateways are available in South Africa on Bubble?

I believe the PayPal Checkout plugin works however, are there any better alternatives?

Thank you!

1 Like

Hi Leonidas,

PayGate does work quite well but Iā€™ve only done the basic HTML Pay Now buttons; Iā€™d still like to learn how to fully integrate it and receive the payment status (ā€œSuccessfulā€) etc.

Did you maybe find a way that works?

Hi @mccjon. Iā€™ve also experimented with the HTML pay buttons (with PayPal), but like you say, you canā€™t receive a Payment Status when using those, which is very important. Iā€™d only use HTML pay buttons for something like donations where Payment Status isnā€™t important. To receive Payment Status, you would need to set up the API itself. What you can do is set up the PayFast API in the API connector. Their documentation is quite thorough and they will be willing to help if you give them a call. I have not used the PayGate API though.

As an alternative option you can use the Stripe plugin and set up a bank account in the USA, Stripe Atlas make this process very easy for you, you can find their pricing on their site.

1 Like

Hi Leonidas,

Thanks so much for your reply!

Iā€™ll give the API a go (always seems like to much trial and error); Iā€™m keen to see how PayFastā€™s Bitcoin payment implementation works as well.

Iā€™ve had a look at Atlas and I think itā€™s an amazing product, but Iā€™ll only do that once the app shows some real potential and after Iā€™ve got a few more test users - quite a bit of cash and responsibility once youā€™re incorporated in the USA.

How are your projects going on Bubble?

Only a pleasure.

Yea I know right. I have a friend who will set it up for you for an affordable price. This is his website. I got a quote from him for about R2500 if I remember correctly.

Yes, that is true.