I am about to deploy a big upgrade to my app which will also involve running some workflows to remap some data for the new data model. The workflows will take 10ish minutes to run, but before they do, the app will be somewhat broken after the deploy. Ideally, I would lock users out during this time with some kind of app-maintenance message, but I’m not sure the best way to do this.
The only way I can really think of doing this is to add a new full screen floating group to my shared header that would obstruct all pages with a maintenance message, toggled on and off with a field in the database to let me quickly disable/enable the entire app.
Does anyone else have a good idea for this?
(In the future I’ll break my changes into branches so that I can first deply backwards-compatible data model changes, run my data migrations, and only then deploy the new features.)