Should search be handled in backend workflows?

Hey there!
Im quite new to bubble and really happy so far with everything you can do with it. Im building my first product and have a question regarding search-functionality. Im building a kind of social media app where people can create posts and also search through posts. Now I finished the search functionality for my app but now I heard of backend workflows for the first time and how they enable a better performance.
Currently im doing the search in normal workflows, for example:
The user can search for all posts that are have a special categorie attribute. The results are displayed in a repeating group.

But thinking of how there could be potential 100k posts to search through, could I get performance issues down the road by placing the search functionality in normal workflows but not in backend workflows?

Thanks in advance for any reply!

Yes. But kinda no in practice.

Back end workflows run entirely separately from your front end.

So you would have to have something in the front end that notified the user when the search was done. Not impossible of course.

You can however use back end workflows to ensure you data is easier to search etc

2 Likes

Thank you @NigelG for your reply!

So If we stick to my example with the 100k posts does this mean my users would have to wait a long time to get their search results? :frowning:

I might be missing out but how do you search something in the backend workflows and display it back in the frontend?

Sure, we could do search actions in the backend but we don’t have the ability or actions that enables us to send data from backend to frontend, right?

Off the top of my head, the only way to send data from backend workflows to frontend is to use APIs

Impossible to say. Depends on your search.

If you can narrow it down with server side constraints (so directly in the search) then no.