Sorting repeating groups by Likes

Hi!

I’d like to create a “Top Posts” section, for the top user-submitted articles of the day. How can I do this?

I’d also like to create a “Post of the Day” feature. How can I grab the top article of the day and display it?

1 Like

I take you have some way to count what’s a top post. So you should be able to sort on that and retrieve the first one or a fixed number of them in a Repeating group.

Cheers, Peter

The way I’d approach it is below. I’m not a Bubble expert though, so there may be a better way.

Step 1: In the User datatype, have a list field for Liked Posts. When a user “likes” a post, the workflow adds the post to the User’s list of Liked Posts.

Step 2: In the Post datatype, have a number field for “Likes”. Have the above workflow add +1 to the “Likes” field when a user likes a post.

Step 3: Sort the RG of posts based on the Likes field.

Ideally, you could have Bubble “:count” the number of Liked Posts in Step 1 above, and therefore you wouldn’t need Step 2. But I have not run across any way of sorting based on real-time calculated fields within native Bubble. Doing that would require a plugin.

You could also run a back-end workflow that runs regularly to count all the likes and assign that number to the posts field, but the above method seems simpler to me.

1 Like

I’m trying to do the same thing. I have “likes” as a field associated with the relevant data type and when a user clicks “like”, it adds +1 to the count of that data item.
However, I am trying to create a list of “top posts” too, that displays a list of the data and sorts them by count of # of likes.
In repeating group, I have:

Search for [data type]:sorted by dynamic field

and then in the List Sorting Order popup, it provides an option to “Sort By”… and it lists a few of the fields associated with the data type. However, “likes” is not listed as an option. Why is this?

Thanks for anyone who can help my with this!