Speed problem with advanced shopping list - list shifter a solution?

Hi,

I am running into one (or rather multiple) speed issues when trying to create a somewhat more advanced shopping list based on a number of recipes. I have no developing background and am new to bubble, but I have gotten everything to work based on the little knowledge I have. So I have most probably not taken the most elegant route :frowning:

Now the problem is that things are running enormously slow, and I am wondering if, e.g. @keith 's ListShifter or the Repeating Group plugin (bdk) of @gaurav, might be a solution to my issues.

The use-case is simple: Have a recipe with a list of ingredients, select that recipe and put all ingredients into a shopping-list, which you can then tick off as you buy them in the store over the course of a few days. Slight complication, if you select multiple recipes, I want to have a single shopping list which categorizes items by shelf (e.g. fruit, veggies, dairy, etc.) and aggregates same type of ingredients across recipes.

This is how I have set it up:

Step 1: Create shopping list items via ‘Schedule API workflow on a list’ based on the individual recipe ingredients - this takes quite some time (same for de-selecting and deleting all the shoppinglist items again). I add a list of the shopping_list items to the user, to allow for direct referencing in step 2.

Step 2: Display shoppinglist items in two nested RG’s including some filtering. First RG uses Bubble’s ‘group by’ feature, to allow grouping by shelf. Nested RG, uses Bubbles ‘group by’ to group by ingredient name and to aggregates quantity. Filters are used to only show items that have not been marked as ‘bought’. This whole thing takes forever to load or update, e.g. if you change quantities - see next step.