Stripe : Do we need a customer service portal?

Hey guys,
I am new to Bubble and I am trying to integrate Stripe in my app. I installed the official Stripe Plugin and set up my basic workflow to charge a user accordingly. My difficulty starts here, I want to add Cancel Subscription workflow in my app. I saw that there is an action in the workflow called “Cancel the current user’s plan” and when I implemented this, it seems to do the trick. My question is why do we need a customer service portal at all? What purpose does it have? In all the youtube videos i found, they mentioned something about webhooks and stripe events. I dont understand why it is being done. Can someone please help me out here?

Thanks in advance!

Hey @aayushwas :wave:

Welcome to the Bubble community! :tada: :confetti_ball:

As long as you reference the Current User's Stripe Subscription Status is 'active', then you won’t need to add any webhooks. Bubble takes care of those for you when you use their plugin. The customer portal is nice for when the user needs to update their credit card or if they want to see their billing history. You just need to check if they have an active subscription while they are accessing data that they are paying for, otherwise, kick them out and don’t show them the data.

Does that make sense? :blush:

1 Like

Another simple option instead of trying to recreate cancellation and billing flows within Bubble is to use Stripe’s customer portals, they’re no-code so you’ll just share the right link in your Bubble app. Here’s more about that: Activate the no-code customer portal | Stripe Documentation

In Bubble, you can use the “prefilled_email” parameter to connect them to the right billing portal

1 Like

Good one @lola, would they have to verify their email though? :man_shrugging: