Survey wizard similar to TurboTax

Hi,

I’m new to bubble and want to make sure I’m structuring the data correctly from the outset. I essentially want to replicate TurboTax’s wizard that walks users through different questions. I’m planning on using hidden groups and custom states to create the “wizard” functionality with tabs and buttons to navigate. The end goal is to aggregate all the questions and answers into a simple table with one question and corresponding answer per row. Think of the Google Forms spreadsheet output.

The question I have is how to structure the data. Specifically, what will be the “things”? Will questions be a thing with title and user response as fields? And does that mean each individual question (e.g. question #24 what is your favorite color?) is a separate “thing”?

Any ideas on how I should be thinking about this would be very helpful. Thanks for your help!

1 Like

Hi Justin,

There’s lots of different ways to design the database schema for this. It really depends on the type of questions your asking, etc. For example, if users can include multiple answers for some questions, then you most likely won’t want the question and answer listed as a single row in 1 large table.

Here’s some additional details about potential schema: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1764435/database-design-for-a-survey

Best of luck!

Hello @justin,

Did you get any success with this TurboTax wizard?

Thanks.