Why is the Bubble Airtable Plugin so much slower than the API?

I’ve been using the Airtable plugin for quite a while now because it was simple to set up. I was always frustrated by the speed though. Just recently I started playing with the API and I’m fascinated by the difference in speed. I’m interested in finding out the reason for this and would be grateful for any feedback regarding this.

Thanks,
George

bump…

Nobody has any feedback regarding this?

Probably helps prevent hitting the potential rate limit and getting your airtable connection severed for several seconds while it cools down.

1 Like

Thanks @jared.gibb

@gnelson I’m reviving this thread as I’m having the same question. The airtable API seems rather fast but displaying a list of a few tens of products through the airtable integration is very slow. Our workload to airtable is read-only.

We typically have a repeating group fed from airtable and looking at the network traffic, it seems that there is one request fired to the airtable API for each product which seems very non optimal (vs bulk fetching all records and then displaying them).

As I’m still new to Bubble, I’m not entirely sure that going with a manual API connector will work (also we have some references to the records fetched using the Bubble plugin and I’m not sure a manual API connector would be compatible).

Happy to hear if you managed to improve the performance in your case!

1 Like

Once I discovered the problem, I had no issues with the API going both directions. The plug-in is so simple , but the speed to pull in the data makes it almost unusable. Didn’t matter so much sending data to AT. I’m done with that project. So happy to not have to deal with AT anymore. Some people in here really love it. I never saw what they saw.

1 Like

hey, we actually just launched a Bubble connector at Whalesync, which might be helpful here.