Add fillable record to table

Hello all,

I am brand new to the bubble platform and working through some functionality as a proof of concept. What I would like to do is be able to add records to a table on the screen, then once that page is submitted, create individual records for each utilizing some shared data (shift date, job number) in the backend (database). I have roughly wireframed the idea visually to hopefully help explain. Is this something that is natively possible or does it require a workaround or plugin of some sort?

Hey @sdbdev :wave:

Welcome to the Bubble Community! :tada: :confetti_ball:

Yes, this is a native feature in Bubble. You can either run a backend workflow to do this on each record that you are creating or you might even be able to do this on the front end after each time the person clicks ‘add a new entry’. You can create a connection to those entries by having a ‘job’ data type. Then connect each entry to its parent job. Does that make sense?

I will see if I can make an example for you since there are a bunch of ways to do this.

Hope that make sense. :blush:

I would probably create a group outside of the repeating group with all of the inputs you want. Then, use some UI styling so it looks like it’s part of the group and create the thing only one they click a save icon.

Creating an empty thing is probably quite hacky and could lead to issues if, for example, elsewhere in your app you display counts for the Thing so the count would be off by 1 without an extra conditional to check the Thing isn’t a fake/empty thing.

@sdbdev

Here is an example for you, I created this in view of keeping my test database clean so it stays on the free plan. This would just be an example that you can build off of for your situation. Hope that helps. :blush:

Editor: testApp42wCleanDB | Bubble Editor

Preview: https://testapp42wcleandb.bubbleapps.io/version-test/add_fillable_record_to?debug_mode=true