Any pitfalls in using Text field types for storing dates in bubble data tables?

Hello,

I’m new to bubble but not new to programming. We’ve contract a team to develop an app for us in bubble and they’ve been really good. The one thing that I don’t agree with is that for some reason they have used Text data field types to store Timestamp data in a few tables. There are just a few fields this is happening with and it makes me EXTREMELY uncomfortable having lived through and fixed code during Y2K that would have killed children left unfixed.

I first noticed this during testing when I saw the date and time of a transaction that was in the future which should not happen so I started to dig around.

My questions are:

1. What are the pitfalls in using text fields for date storage in bubble? I saw that bubble has also changed the way they convert and add months given leap years, February, time zones, and daylight savings time.
  2. Do date conversion/manipulation functions in bubble require datetypes or will they take text datatype or would you just convert the text to a date datatype and use it to call the function?
  3. They are now going to store all of the dates as UTC in the text fields and do all of the conversions. I’m not really sure about the thinking behind this.
  4. For sure looking at the raw data in the database will be less convenient because bubble automatically converts date fields to local time before displaying them. When looking at these text fields, I would need to convert them in my head.

Any comments would be great appreciated.

I do like their work so far and am very happy with what they have done…except for this. Let me know if I’m over thinking it.

Thanks.

Just replying based on the title of the post.

Main pitfall of this is that the date would no longer be a data data type and you would lose all functionality for manipulating the date data type.