Forum Academy Marketplace Showcase Pricing Features

Assign Items to Users. Possible?

I’m very new to bubble.is, so my apologies firsthand.

In simplest terms, It’s a private app. Users are essentially employees.

Simple for you all, yet excruciatingly difficult for me:

Two data types (thus far)… Users and Assets

When viewing an asset (page=assets), you may click a button to assign an asset to a user. When you view a user (page=personnel), you may click a button to see their assigned assets.

Please disregard the unorganized content and design. Any help or resources would be much appreciated. I’ve read manuals, taken a few lessons, and read a ton of the forum posts to no avail. Again, I’m new at this and just trying to figure it our like most.

Hi @jake.durham :slight_smile: Welcome to the forum!

Just took a quick look at the app. On the Asset page, I’m assuming after “Assign this Asset to an Employee is clicked” --> the User is selected from the dropdown, and that User’s information is then displayed in the inputs beneath it? (First Name, Last Name, The Asset’s Item Number and the Asset’s Item Name?).

Then when save is clicked you’d like the Asset to be added to the User’s List of Assets, and you’d like the User to be saved to the “Badge or ID Number” (User field) within the Asset data type? Can each Asset only be assigned to one User? But a User can have many Assets?

I used the badge number field as I thought it would delineate a specific user more accurately than trying to assign to a first name and last name (separate fields) of the user. So however would be easiest is fine by me. If you look on the Personnel page, you can click “assets assigned to this user” and in theory a list of their assets would be there. Of course, this list would be generated on the assets page by clicking the appropriate button. Does help help clarify?