Bubble Roadmap Update: Workload Management Tooling

My name is Laura, and I’m a group product manager for our Growth team. Today, we wanted to give you a preview of upcoming releases to help you manage workload and some historical context for those of you who are new to Bubble.

We understand that the workload tools, visibility, and information we provide today isn’t enough. We want to let you know that we hear your concerns and the team is committed to giving you more tools you need to build with confidence on Bubble.

In the coming weeks, Bubble will be rolling out two new tools to help you manage unexpected workload spikes:

What’s coming soon

1. Custom workload notifications: This will enable you to set custom notifications for workload unit (WU) consumption by specifying a WU threshold to trigger email alerts. When your app hits that threshold, we’ll send you an email so you can make any necessary changes, like pausing or updating workflows.

Modal (2)

1. Infinite loop protection: This feature will allow you to set a limit, at the app level, to prevent infinitely looping recursive workflows. This will act as an additional backstop and supplement the constraints that you can add at the workflow level (i.e. “only when” conditions).

• If you’re on a new workload-based pricing plan, you can consider using schedule API workflow on a list (SAWOL) instead of a recursive workflow to conduct bulk data operations. To learn more about the two methods, how they compare, and the ideal use cases, check out the Bubble manual article comparing recursive vs SAWOL.

Additional context on workload for those newer to Bubble

Our legacy pricing plans included a capacity usage metric rather than workload. Unfortunately, apps slowed down or didn’t work as well when they exceeded the capacity limit — they were “throttled” right when you most needed to keep up with increased demand from your end-users.